Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)/Bachelor of Computer Science

Program code


Available at


Gold Coast

Mount Gravatt


South Bank





5 years full-time
10 years part-time

Credit points


Indicative fee

$8,500.00* per year (more)
* 2024 indicative annual CSP fee

Entry requirements




Commencing in

Trimester 1 and Trimester 2


  • NIL

Assumed knowledge

  • Any General or Applied English subject (Units 3 and 4, C)
  • Mathematical Methods (Units 3 and 4, C)

My details

Programs change over time. Course lists and requirements are specific to the year you started studying.


For the award of Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)/Bachelor of Computer Science [BEng(Hons)/BCompSc], you must successfully complete 400 credit points, made up of

  • 160 credit points of core courses
  • 20 credit points of foundation courses for your chosen Engineering major;
  • 160 credit points for an Engineering major;
  • 60 credit points for a Computer Science major;

Other program requirements

You must successfully complete:

  • no more than 140 credit points of Level 1 courses (the first digit of a course code denotes the level);
  • at least 60 credit points of Level 3 courses or higher.

You must also complete a minimum of 12 weeks (60 days) of approved experience in an Engineering practice environment (or a satisfactory alternative) during your degree studies.


Classification of Honours - Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)

The class of Honours to be awarded to each student in this degree will be determined by the School Assessment Board on the basis of the Program Grade Point Average for the engineering components of the program and the performance in the final year IAP course.

A minimum IAP mark of 50% is required for the award of the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours).

Students who have repeated the IAP course will be eligible for no higher than Class III Honours. A second fail in the IAP course will result in termination of the student's enrolment in the program.

Cut-offs for Honours Classifications
  • Class I Honours:
    • Program Grade Point Average - 6.200 (minimum)
    • Minimum IAP Mark - 80%
  • Class IIA Honours:
    • Program Grade Point Average - 5.650 (minimum)
    • Minimum IAP Mark - 70%
  • Class IIB Honours:
    • Program Grade Point Average - 5.000 (minimum)
    • Minimum IAP Mark - 60%
  • Class III Honours:
    • Program Grade Point Average - < 5.000
    • Minimum IAP Mark - 50%

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Level and Type

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. The Bachelor of Computer Science is accredited as an AQF Level 7 - Bachelor Degree.The Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) is accredited as an AQF Level 8 - Bachelor Honours Degree.

Program learning outcomes

Program Learning Outcomes communicate to the community the value of the Griffith educational experience as benchmarked against national qualification standards.

Program Learning Outcomes for the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) and Bachelor of Computer Science describe the knowledge, skills and the application of knowledge and skills you will acquire through studying the Griffith program of your choice.