Bachelor of Advanced Computer Science (Honours)

Program code


Available at


Gold Coast

Mount Gravatt


South Bank





4 years full-time
8 years part-time

Credit points


Indicative fee

$7,000.00* per year (more)
* 2023 indicative annual CSP fee

Entry requirements




Commencing in

Trimester 1 and Trimester 2


Assumed knowledge

  • Any General or Applied English subject (Units 3 and 4, C)
  • Mathematical Methods (Units 3 and 4, C)

My details

Programs change over time. Course lists and requirements are specific to the year you started studying.


For Domestic students and those International students not required to complete the English Language Enhancement course

For the award of Bachelor Advanced of Computer Science (Honours) (BAdvCompSc(hons), you must successfully complete 320 credit points, made up of the core courses AND

  • 60 credit points for one major OR
    • if you elect not to complete a major, you will complete 60 credit points from the No Major Option list; AND
  • 30 credit points of listed electives AND
  • 40 credit points of free-choice electives.


  • 100 credit points for two majors AND
  • 30 credit points of listed electives

Other program requirements

You must successfully complete:

  • no more than 120 credit points of Level 1 courses (the first digit of a course code denotes the level);
  • at least 60 credit points of Level 3 courses or higher.

Exit point

To be eligible to exit the Bachelor of Advanced Computer Science (Honours) program with the Bachelor of Computer Science, you must acquire 240 credit points as prescribed below:

  • at least 200 credit points from the Bachelor Computer Science (Honours) course list for any major/s including all first year level and second year level core courses;
  • no more than 40 credit points of listed electives;
  • at least 60 credit points of courses at third year level or higher;
  • no more than 100 credit points of courses at first year level.

To exit, you should apply for a program transfer.


Classification of Honours

This degree with Honours may be awarded in the following classes:

  • Class I Honours
  • Class IIA Honours
  • Class IIB Honours
  • Class III Honours

The class of Honours to be awarded to each student in this degree will be determined on the basis of the GPA achieved for the 80 credit points of nominated courses and a minimum percentage for the Dissertation as outlined in the Calculation of Honours Classification section of the Bachelor Honours Degree (AQF Level 8) Policy.

Students who do not achieve Class III Honours will be awarded a Bachelor of Computer Science.

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Level and Type

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is the national policy for regulated qualifications in Australian education and training. This qualification is accredited as an AQF Level 8 - Bachelor Honours Degree.

English Language Enhancement

Domestic students enrolled in this program whose first language is not English may complete the following English Language Enhancement (ELE) course as an elective.

Students whose first language is English are not permitted to undertake this ELE course.

Program learning outcomes

Program Learning Outcomes communicate to the community the value of the Griffith educational experience as benchmarked against national qualification standards.

Program Learning Outcomes for this award describe the knowledge, skills and the application of knowledge and skills you will acquire through studying the Griffith program of your choice.